Biograhpy

Lotte Profohs was an Austrian artist, She was born on 16 November 1934 as Lieselotte Cäcilie Profohs in Vienna Austria.

Profohs studied at the Academy of Applied Arts from 1949 at the age of 15, where she also met her later husband Helmut Leherbauer, (Maître) Leherb.
She always described herself as an expressionist with feminist features.
Profohs was already internationally recognised as a graphic artist and painter in the early 1950s; her works were purchased by renowned museums (Louvre) and collections. Respect for her person as a woman, as well as recognition for her work, were very important to her.
In 2018, the Lotte-Profohs-Weg was named after her in Vienna Donaustadt (22nd district Vienna Austria)

Work
Profohs created countless works, most of them have a socially critical background and are designed in black and white. Profohs was concerned with people on the fringes of society and with feminist themes, which were to become stronger especially after an encounter with Simone de Beauvoir. Her works were also included in the collection of the Association of the Feminist Avant-Garde.

Marginalised people and women in work
​In 1957, Lotte Profohs read the first German edition of the novel "Pitié pour les Femmes" by Henry de Montherlant (1895-1972) The work, published under the title "Mercy on Women" (Erbarmen mit den Frauen) was heavily criticised by Simone de Beauvoir, among others, because it contains many misogynistic statements.
Lotte Profohs was very concerned and outraged by what she had read and created more than 200 drawings on this complex of themes. Abortion, homosexuality, isolation, loneliness and sexualised violence were at the centre of her work.

They are to be understood as a replica of the novel, however the cycle was slightly renamed, "have mercy on women" (Erbarmen mit den Frauen) finally became an appeal: "Have mercy on women"! The book, with an edition of 2500 copies, was deliberately designed very simply so as not to distract from the pictures and their message.
Women's issues were not in demand at that time and were rarely discussed, the oppression of women was part of everyday life. Abandoned and lonely people were excluded from society, women and sexuality, especially women's sexuality, were taboo.

Profohs dedication was to make women visible in their hardships and in their existence. Lotte Profohs' drawings were made spontaneously, without preliminary sketches, the idea developing with each stroke.

Exclusion and dissolution of colonised bodies
In her last exhibition (1989) during her lifetime, entitled "Emigrants of Time", Profohs dealt with the unwanted, the displaced and the excluded.

Biographie

Lotte Profohs  war eine österreichische Künstlerin, sie wurde am 16. November 1934 als Lieselotte Cäcilie Profohs in Wien geboren.
Profohs studierte mit 15 Jahren (1949) an der Akademie für angewandte Kunst, wo sie auch ihren späteren Mann Helmut Leherbauer, (Maître) Leherb, kennen lernte.
 
Sie bezeichnete sich selbst stets als Expressionistin mit feministischen Zügen.
Profohs war bereits Anfang der 1950er Jahre als Grafikerin und Malerin international anerkannt; ihre Arbeiten wurden von renommierten Museen (Louvre) und Sammlungen angekauft. Respektierung ihrer Person als Frau und ebenso die Anerkennung für ihr Werk waren.
Im Jahr 2018 wurde in Wien Donaustadt (22. Bezirk) der Lotte-Profohs-Weg nach ihr benannt.

Werk
Profohs schuf unzählige Werke, die meisten haben einen sozialkritischen Hintergrund und sind schwarz-weiß gestaltet. Profohs beschäftigte sich mit Menschen am Rande der Gesellschaft und mit feministischen Themen, die sich v. a. nach einer Begegnung mit Simone de Beauvoir verstärken sollten. Ihre Werke wurden auch in die Sammlung des Verbunds der Feministischen Avantgarde aufgenommen.

Ausgegrenzte und Frauen im Werk
Im Jahr 1957 las Lotte Profohs die deutsche Erstausgabe des Romans „Pitié pour les Femmes“ von Henry de Montherlant (1895–1972). Das unter dem Titel „Erbarmen mit den Frauen“ erschiene Werk wurde unter anderem auch von Simone de Beauvoir heftig kritisiert, da es viele frauenfeindliche Aussagen enthält.
Das Gelesene beschäftigte und empörte Lotte Profohs sehr, sie schuf mehr als 200 Zeichnungen zu diesem Themenkomplex. Abtreibung, Homosexualität, Isolation, Einsamkeit und sexualisierte Gewalt standen im Mittelpunkt ihres Werkes.
Sie sind als Replik auf den Roman zu verstehen, der Zyklus wurde jedoch leicht umbenannt. Aus dem „Erbarmen mit den Frauen“ wurde schließlich eine Aufforderung: „Erbarmt euch der Frauen“! Das Buch mit einer Auflage von 2500 Stück wurde bewusst sehr schlicht gestaltet, um nicht von den Bildern und ihrer Botschaft abzulenken.
Frauenthemen waren zu dieser Zeit nicht gefragt und wurden auch kaum besprochen, die Unterdrückung der Frau war Teil des Alltags.
Verlassene und einsame Menschen wurden von der Gesellschaft ausgeblendet, Frauen und Sexualität, v.a. die Sexualität der Frauen, waren Tabuthemen, die aufgebrochen wurden.
Profohs versuchte, Frauen in ihren Nöten und in ihrer Existenz sichtbar zu machen. Die Zeichnungen von Lotte Profohs entstanden ohne Vorzeichnungen, spontan, die Idee entwickelte sich mit jedem Strich.

Ausgrenzung und Entgrenzung kolonialisierter Körper
Profohs beschäftigte sich in ihrer letzten Ausstellung (1989) zu Lebzeiten mit dem Titel „Emigranten der Zeit“ mit den Ungewollten, den Vetriebenen und Ausgegrenzten.